Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill walk

Rome Half day walking tour(afternoon): Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill

Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill walk: in this Rome Half day walk, we will continue to visit the area next to the Roman Forum and discover the Capitol and the Capitoline Museums. Do not underestimate this museum that will engage you at least three hours and when you will leave, I assure you, you will be very tired. I suggest this walk on saturday.

Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill walk: afternoon

Starting point:Via Clivo Argentario, 1
Carcere Mamertino
The Prison not only deserves our reverence for being sanctified by the Prince of the Apostles, and many other champions of the faith, before their martyrdom, but still demands our admiration for being the oldest surplus, which still exists in this eternal city, of Roman factory. Anco Marzio, who succeeded to the third King of the Romans Tullio Ostilius, in the year DCXL, was the first author. Then Servius Tullius expanded the prison and then was told Tulliano. The prison, therefore, consists of two levels. From this building, we understand how to think big was be born with the same Rome, since the Romans built a very solid building able to overcome the shock of 24 centuries and still holds the great weight of the facade of the overlying church of S. Giuseppe de falegnami. Its facade is composed of Tiburtine stones connected to each other without the aid of lime, boulders are very large and well-worked. This site was built by Marzio without any door. But to reduce it to a sacred place, were opened two inputs, breaking the seven palms of thickness walls of lava stone. One of them leads from the road for two flights of stairs, the other entrance is located in a side of the church of St. Giuseppe. The prison is a oblong shaped square, on the vault you can see a hole from which fell the criminals tied with a rope.

Via della Curia, 2
Chiesa dei Santi Luca e Martina al Foro Romano
It stands on the site of the ancient church of St. Martin, which was erected in the VI. century, on _ the spot of the Secretllrium Senatus. It was rebuilt in the XIII century by Alexander IV and then granted by Sixtus V. in 1588 to the Accademy of Fine Arts called of S. Luca.  In the lower church we see the ancient columns of the Secretarium and the monument to Pietro da Cortona by Bernini is especially worthy of notice.

ome Half day walking tour: Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill: Campidoglio-Rome

This hill, one of the most celebrated of acient Rome, has had different appellations at different epochs. In the most remote times it was called Saturnius, from Saturn who built a city on it called Saturnia. In the times of Romulus, Tarpeius, from Tarpeia, a Roman girl, the daughter of Spurius Tarpeius who was killed by the Sabines. Under Tarquinius Superbus, Capitolium, or Mons Capitolinus from a man’s head found in digging the foundations of the temple of Jupiter, considered as an omen of the future greatness of Rome. From the ancient word Capitolium is derived, by corruption, the present word Campidoglio.

Equestrian Sculpture of Marcus Aurelius: Empire: Equestrian Sculpture of Marcus Aurelius, bronze, c. 173-76 C.E., (Capitoline Museums, Rome). The original location of the sculpture is unknown though it had been housed in the Lateran Palace since the 8th century until it was placed in the center of the Piazza del Campidoglio by Michelangelo in 1538. The original is now indoors for purposes of conservation. Marcus Aurelius ruled 161-180 C.E.

Piazza del Campidoglio, 1
Musei Capitolini. – It was designed by Michelangelo, and built by his pupil Tomaso de’ Cavalieri, who modified it slightly. In 1471 Sixtus IV had given to the people of Rome a beautiful group of ancient statuary but Leo X. really begin to form the collection which was enlarged by Pius V, Clement VIII, Benedict XIV and Clement XIII; but the credit of founding the museum is due to Clement XII, because, he caused the halls to be decorated and ordered the objects contained in them to be classified.

Rome Half day walking tour: Piazza Venezia and the Capitoline Hill - Santa-maria-in-aracoeli

Scala dell’Arcicapitolina, 12
Basilica di Santa Maria in Aracoeli
Once called Santa Maria di Capitolio was afterwards called Aracoeli, from the legend of an altar built there by Augustus to the future redeemer foretold by the Sibyl. In the X Century it already belonged to the Benedettini monks, in 1290 Innocent IV gave it to the Francescani monks. The church was considered by the Municipality of Rome as its property, it was rebuilt in XIII century in the gothic style. In 1464 it was restored by Card. Oliviero Carafa. In the sacristy they keep the Santo Bambino, carved in the XVI century by a monk, out of the trunk of an olive-tree from the garden of Getsemam.

Piazza di San Marco, 52
Basilica di San Marco Evangelista al Campidoglio
Built in 336 by Pope S. Mark, after various repairs was renewed from its foundations in 883 by Gregory IV. In 1468 Paul II, a Venetian, leaving intact the ancient mosaic tribune, rebuilt it under the direction of Majano. It was afterwards restored and embellished with paintings and stuccos at the expense of Cardinal Quirini. The body of S. Mark is in an urn of grey antique granite under the altar. The balustrade and steps are of the finest marble. Over the portico gate of the piazza is an ancient piece of sculpture of the XIII century representing the Evangelist S. Mark.

Via del Plebiscito, 118
Museo Nazionale del Palazzo di Venezia

Suggested restaurants near Colosseum
Suggested restaurants near Piazza Venezia

Notes and opening hours

Musei Capitolini Address: Piazza del Campidoglio, 1 Opening times Tuesday-Sunday: 9.00 am – 8.00 pm; 24 and 31 December: 9.00 am – 2.00 pm Last admission 1 hour before closing time. Closed: Monday, January 1, December 25, May 1 “Museum + Exhibition Combined Ticket: Adults: € 13,00 Agreement with Roma Pass The Museums of the Municipality are covered by the Roma Pass, the first cultural tourism card in the capital, which offers price benefits and services that make visiting the city easier. Roma Pass allows: 1. free entry the first 2 museums and/or archaeological sites of your choice 2. free admission includes the exhibition held in the mu-seum 3. reduced ticket prices to all other museums and/or ar-chaeological sites visited thereafter 4.free admission to the following museums: Museo della Repubblica Romana e della memoria garibaldina, Museo Bilotti a Villa Borghese, Museo Canonica, Museo delle Mura, Museo Napoleonico and Villa di Massenzio (during Roma Pass validity period and in addition to the 2 free admissions)

Santa Maria in Aracoeli Address: Scala dell’Arce Capitolina, 14 Opening times May-September: 9.00 am – 6.30 pm; October-April: 9.30 am – 5.30 pm.

Carcere Mamertino Address: Via Clivo Argentario, 1 Opening times

Winter time: 9.00 am – 5.00 pm (last admission 4.20 pm), daily; Summer time: 9.00 – 7.00 pm (last admission 6.20 pm), daily; Accompanied tours (max 25 persons per tour) leave every 20 minutes and last about 30 minutes. Audio guides in Italian, English, Spanish and French.

Tickets Adults: € 5,00 (accompanied tour with audioguide) Only entrance: € 3,00 (only entrance without audioguide) Free of charge: children under 6 years of age; Tickets can be purchased at the desk at the main entrance.

Chiesa dei Santi Luca e Martina al Foro Romano

Opening times
Saturday 9.00 am – 18.00 pm